Skip to main content

How to do release management in sprint?

Last post 07:16 am November 30, 2021 by Ian Mitchell
3 replies
01:47 pm November 29, 2021

HI,

I am new to scrum and having lot of queries related to sprint and release planning.Below are my queries:

• My understanding is we can do multiple releases within a sprint as each completed PBI during sprint is an increment. By release, I mean moving user stories with DOD to production for end users. However, my questions is how sprint review should be conducted for such increments within sprint?
  • Another question on release planning.One of my team have predefined release cycle of 1.5 months. In this time frame we can almost finish 3 sprints? Can we combine 3 sprints together and do release in production. Is this correct?
  • Should we estimate defects reported in production? If yes, should we count story points of those defects in next sprint velocity ? Please guide on how effort and estimation should be done for production defects?
  • How high priority and extremely urgent show stopper production issues should be tackled in scrum? If development team agrees that it can fix issue in current sprint, should we remove stories from sprint backlog and replace it with bug estimates? Let's assume this doesn't happen often or frequently.

Thanks and waiting for your guidance.

10:44 pm November 29, 2021

My understanding is we can do multiple releases within a sprint as each completed PBI during sprint is an increment. By release, I mean moving user stories with DOD to production for end users. However, my questions is how sprint review should be conducted for such increments within sprint?