Skip to main content

Incorporate UX/UI issues in the Sprint Backlog?

Last post 11:35 pm December 2, 2021 by Mario De Caerlé
4 replies
03:46 pm December 2, 2021

Hi all, 

I'm a UX designer in a scrumteam (I'm part of the DEV team), but we are currently reviewing the way we incorporate UX/UI issues in our backlog. The team feels that every team member should have stories in the SBL, which means my design issues should be there as well. But since my UX/UI stories aren't delivering increments (and they may take while because a lot of research and designing is happening and it will take longer then a sprint), I am not favoring the 'put all UX/UI issues in the SBL without an estimate and just leave them there when the sprint is over and the work is not done yet, so it will still be in focus when we start a next sprint.'

Currently my work is in the BL, not in de SBL. So what I do is: the PO comes to the team with an issue, we evaluate if UX/UI is needed in a refinement, and I start working on it. In the Utopia way of working, I should be 2 sprints ahead of building said story.

But my team members wants to have these kinds of issues more in focus, so that everyone knows what everyone is doing. Since we're shifting our focus during the daily away from when people have been doing to what issues are there on the SBL and who is working on it/who can help fix this issue (which I wholeheartedly agree with). But this means that the team also wants to include my UX/UI issues in the SBL.

I don't favor this, because of reasons mentioned above, but I was wondering how we should do this. I already saw a lot of people mentioning that a UX Designer shouldn't be part of a DEV team, which I disagree upon. I work closely with my team in order for me to do my UX work:

• Is what I envision technically doable?;
  • I include the team in UX work as well (2 pairs of eyes see more then one);
  • When they are building my designs, I work closely to make sure the increment is as I designed;