Skip to main content

Team setup, sprint goals and disturbances

Last post 06:07 am January 11, 2022 by Ian Mitchell
4 replies
09:46 am January 7, 2022

I'll start by apologizing for the long post.

I work as a PO for two products that are handled by the same team.

I get my road map items from a Product lead that are responsible for several products and it's that person that communicates with our real customers. This person can in the middle of a sprint request high level estimates for new roadmap issues. The issue can be small or very big and require investigation which messes up the sprint.

Internally we have specific customer teams that are responsible for adding customer specific features and verifying that everything works for that specific customer before that customer gets a new release. These teams can ask questions (support) that might take time to answer. They sometime require bug fixes asap also. This messes up the sprint. Some of these teams also works waterfall although claim to work scrum just by having the sprints and ceremonies but they have a set date and a complete scope that is not allowed to change. 

The dev. team I work with consists of two frontend devs, three backend devs, one architect and two QAs (one of the QAs is also SM). The frontend devs only know product A and two backend devs knows product A and B, one backend dev only knows product A and the architect is quite new and only knows product A also. When we have refinements it's a recurring thing that the team is very silent. During retros they then often complain about lack of information. In our planning méetings they're also quiet so it's basically me and the SM that plan eveeything.

So here comes my questions...

1) How do I (help) plan a sprint when it's so dependant on which developer that can work with frontend/backend for my two products?