Skip to main content

It's past midnight...now what?

Last post 05:38 pm January 13, 2022 by Urs Lässer
5 replies
06:35 pm January 9, 2022

So I fell more and more in love with Scrum and its rules the more I studied for my PSM. Every fake test I took...every time I read 'the bible'...every time I admonished myself for forgetting that the Product Owner has the ultimate responsibility if a stakeholder complains about a product's progress, or even if the PO just asks for help. 

Then I passed the test with a 92%. I understood. I loved the rules and learning the ways the relationships within a scrum team worked.

Then I started looking at jobs.

First job I looked at under the responsibilities tab I saw, "Must report to the Product Owner every day." Second job I looked at called for the Scrum Master to furnish a daily report to management about the Developers' work that day. Really? Was I being naiive for expecting companies to adhere to Scrum rules (and not just some of them?) Weren't we told that you can't pick or choose which scrum rules to observe?

So, to my fellow scrummers, what should I expect from this point on? And if it's this, I was just curious what the scrum founders say about job listings like this. Thanks...

05:48 am January 11, 2022

As a Scrum Master you manage the Scrum Framework, which means managing people's understanding of it. You manage what they have in their heads. So be good at wondering about the things you see going on, and how Scrum outcomes would be achieved by them.

11:44 am January 11, 2022

"Must report to the Product Owner every day."

"Scrum Master to furnish a daily report to management about the Developers' work that day"