Skip to main content

2 Product Owners sharing 1 dev. team

Last post 03:48 pm February 1, 2022 by Timothy Baffa
7 replies
07:46 pm January 19, 2022

How common is it for there to be 2 PO's (responsible for different products) that "share" one engineering team?

How effective is this?

09:10 pm January 19, 2022

I'm a Technical Program Manager (TPM) and am supporting a squad of 6 engineers. The thing is, there's another TPM who is in charge of a different product, but also utilizes the same engineering squad.

11:33 pm January 19, 2022

This statement comes from the Scrum Guides section that describes the Scrum Team.

The fundamental unit of Scrum is a small team of people, a Scrum Team. The Scrum Team consists of one Scrum Master, one Product Owner, and Developers. Within a Scrum Team, there are no sub-teams or hierarchies. It is a cohesive unit of professionals focused on one objective at a time, the Product Goal.

Those three entities are not job titles so if your organization is using Technical Program Managers to fulfill the Product Owner role there is no problem.  

I have never seen a situation where one group of Developers were able to successfully work on two products under the influence of two Product Owners.  I have experienced a single Product Owner work with more than one group of developers to support a single product.  Having anyone split their focus across multiple products has resulted in conflicts in prioritization and loss of productivity due to context switching. I'm taking the fact that you are asking this question to imply that you are already encountering difficulties. 

How common is it for there to be 2 PO's (responsible for different products) that "share" one engineering team?

Unfortunately this is more common that it should be. However, I have never personally experienced or witnessed it to be successful.  

11:34 pm January 19, 2022

However effective it is, you can expect that effectiveness to be compromised by reduced focus.