Skip to main content

Definition of Done - per product or per organization?

Last post 08:51 am October 9, 2013 by Ian Mitchell
7 replies
01:33 pm October 8, 2013

Hello everyone! =D

I'm a newbie in Scrum and I have a newbie question:

The Definition of Done is per product or each project of the organization mas share the same?

Thanks for the attention!

02:12 pm October 8, 2013

Definition of Done is per team. This is because each team must effectively own its process, and thereby be able to take every item in its Sprint Backlog through to completion.

When multiple teams collaborate on the release of a single product, they must share the same Definition of Done (or at least a common and valuable subset) so that the release will be of a known quality.

03:27 pm October 8, 2013

Understood, thanks Ian!

03:36 pm October 8, 2013

Nissivm,

This changed recently in the new Scrum Guide, and essentially the DoD is per product, though it can also be influenced by the development org.

From the Scrum Guide:
"If the definition of "done" for an increment is part of the conventions, standards or guidelines of the development organization, all Scrum Teams must follow it as a minimum. If "done" for an increment is not a convention of the development organization, the Development Team of the Scrum Team must define a definition of “done” appropriate for the product. If there are multiple Scrum Teams working on the system or product release, the developer teams on all of the Scrum Teams must mutually define the definition of “Done.”"

04:12 pm October 8, 2013

Hi Mr. Bradley, thanks for answering,

Indeed I saw this in the Scrum Guide, but I still was in doubt if each product could have a specific DoD (if it wasn't a little excessive) or if the DoD should be not specific, applicable to every project. Now is all clear. Just learned more for the PSM I assessement!

04:08 am October 9, 2013