Skip to main content

Does the Sprint Planning meeting consist of two sessions??

Last post 02:20 pm May 24, 2018 by Curtis Slough
10 replies
07:23 am October 11, 2013

Hi,

I am studying to take the PSM1 test by doing the tests on testtakeronline and it says that
"The Sprint Planning meeting consist of two parts, each one beeing a time-box of one half of the Sprint Planning Meeting duration."

But when I read the Scrum Guide it says that the Sprint Planning answers the following:
* What can be delivered in the incrementresulting from the upcoming Sprint? (Topic One)
* How will the work needed to deliver the Increment be achieved? (Topic Two)

But it says nothing about that the Sprint Planning consist of two "sessions" and that they should have a time-box of one half of the Sprint planning Meeting.

Or am I missing something?

Can someone please clarify?
Thanks in advance!

08:30 am October 11, 2013

Sprint Planning used to be divided into two parts (What and How), but this changed in the July 2013 revision of the Scrum Guide. Now these are treated as topics to be addressed. They still can be handled as separate parts of the Planning session...but they don't have to be.

05:17 am October 15, 2013

Great, thank you for the clarification!

05:31 am October 15, 2013

We actually started out as 1 meeting where the PO presents the items to the team. After each item the team starts asking (functional) questions to cover “all” scenario. (“all” is a questionable term) After that the team starts creating sub tasks and provide estimations.

Because the PO had a problem with the time that is needed for the Sprint Planning Meeting (4hours for a 2 week Sprint) we went back to Sprint Planning Meeting part 1 (the what) and part 2 (the how) where the PO is not mandatory in the second part. (PO is aware of the consequences of not attending the meeting)

10:56 pm October 17, 2013