Skip to main content

Shifting from sales background to Scrum Master

Last post 04:11 pm February 15, 2022 by Daniel Wilhite
2 replies
08:25 pm February 14, 2022

I am working in sales field for 10 years, recently I started studying and read about Agile and I am interested to join the tech world by starting as a Scrum Master, I asked a lot of experienced SMs and most of them believe it will difficult to make this shifting as I have no software development background, I know the basics about SDLC starting from requirements and user needs and feedback, user stories, designs, development and testing, and to the deployment and integration.

I am preparing to pass the PSM, and I am almost ready now, I follow scrum.org especially blog and forum, it's really awesome to gain the knowledge about the real situations and I do some readings about Software development overall to be aware about the whole cycle.

Will be happy to listen ur advice

08:35 am February 15, 2022

I'd suggest that wanting to "join the tech world" might not be a good reason to become a Scrum Master.

Wishing to achieve more valuable, innovative and sustainable outcomes in your present field of sales, however, could very well be.

04:11 pm February 15, 2022

I am interested to join the tech world by starting as a Scrum Master,

Honestly, a Scrum Master is not part of the "tech world".  A Scrum Master is someone that works with people trying to solve complex problems by using the empirical nature of the Scrum framework. Scrum Masters work in many different disciplines. I have known Scrum Masters that worked with event planning teams, Human Resources organizations, video production, and even publishing of documentation.