Skip to main content

Detailed Requirements Gathering - Help

Last post 01:44 pm January 9, 2014 by Sandeep Kamat
6 replies
04:15 pm December 30, 2013

All,

Please help me with the following question. I can't seem to find anything relating directly to it and therefore I assume I'm personally missing something in my readings.

If a user story is something like, "As a customer I want to log in to my account."

At what point does the detailed requirements gathering take place to be able to estimate and commit to completing this story in a sprint?

Things like:
1. Should the user name be email address or some other user name?
1a. If Q1 is "email address", then should we send an email to have user verify the email address?
2. What level of complexity does the password need to be (i.e. character length, character types, etc)
3. etc...

I'm pretty new to the idea of Scrum and am clearly accustomed to waterfall. That said I'm struggling to think through some of these basic questions.

Thanks...

02:06 am December 31, 2013

> At what point does the detailed requirements
> gathering take place to be able to estimate
> and commit to completing this story in a sprint? 

Requirements gathering and estimation can happen at any time, though a Sprint Review is a formal opportunity to consider the work remaining on the Product Backlog.

Deciding which riequirements to action in the upcoming Sprint is one of the topics addressed in Sprint Planning.

10:09 am December 31, 2013

Thanks Ian for the input. I do appreciate it as I work for a waterfall shop and we're exploring Agile/Scrum but we're collectively struggling with conceptual change in processes.