Skip to main content

Who has the responsibility to decide what and when to release?

Last post 12:35 pm April 17, 2022 by Vladimir Jovanović
8 replies
10:08 am April 14, 2022

Hi all, 

I'm currently studying for my PSM-III, after an initial attempt i'm working through my feedback and trying to brush up on what isn't clear to me. 

I'm really struggling to find a definitive answer on something I got feedback on:

"When it comes to releasing, what does Scrum say about it? Who has the responsibility to decide what and when to release?"

I know in the 2017 guide, it was more explicit that releasing was a PO decision, but this has since been removed and there's no real mention of it in the guide. I read Eric Naiburg's comment that it was removed because there may be other factors in an organzation beyond the scrum team that determine release. While this sounds pragmatic and reasonable, it leaves me confused as to the 'correct' scrum answer for who decides when and what to release. 

My gut tells me that releasing is a technical consideration more often than not these days, and even the word 'release' is ambiguous (is something behind a feature flag 'released'?), so given the statement "The Scrum Team is responsible for all product-related activities", the current correct answer is 'the scrum team' is responsible, but this still doesn't feel quite right to me, given the PO is accountable for the value of the product, and releasing is ultimately a value question, not a quality question (given the DoD). 

Am I overthinking this? Does anyone have any insights? 

11:19 am April 14, 2022

Even with the removal of explicit mentions of making the decision to release in the 2020 updates, I'd say say the answer is the Product Owner. However, I'd also add that in addition to what and when to release, the Product Owner is ensures that how the product Increments get released is acceptable to the various stakeholder groups.