Skip to main content

User story in a Datawarehouse context

Last post 04:44 pm July 6, 2023 by Daniel Wilhite
7 replies
04:32 pm April 15, 2022

Hi all,

I would like to implement SCRUM framework in a advanced analytics project (datawarehouse and Analytics tools). The platform is live but there is no data inside yet.

I tried to create user stories for the datawarehouse but I am not sure if I am in the good path 

Let me explain : if I write the US1 like this for example :

US description : "As a manager, I want to have a dashboard with KPI 1 over month in order to manage the operational activity"

US comments : "KPI 1 is rooling average on 6 month / FTE where € comes from Accounting and FTE comes from HR application"

US acceptance test : "KPI should change when filter the date, should have ref if minimum reached etc..."

=> We will have a lot of technical task to get the data from Accounting and HR applications : open network stream between the servers, extract data, design & implement datawarhouse model for this need, create the KPI and then the report.

If the 2 sources can not provide date at the same time, that means I should see with the business to redesign the user story to says : 

US 1 : "As a manager, I want to have the € from accouting in the database"

US 2 : "A a manager, I want to have the FTE from HR in the database",

US 3 : " As a manager, I want to have the KPI 1"

=> US 3 will be put in a future sprint when US1 & 2 have been done ? That would be equivalent to say that I create US by source ?? I feel that it is not the way the Backlog should be created, am I wrong ?

I am not used to be on the PO side and my PSM 1 level & scrum master experience was not in a BI / Data context...

Thanks by advance for your advices !

Sambath

05:44 pm April 15, 2022

Are these user stories prompting good discussions about the underlying requirements that ought to be satisfied?

06:30 pm April 15, 2022