Skip to main content

Correct Steps For Product Owner?

Last post 05:54 pm April 22, 2022 by Ian Mitchell
3 replies
08:45 pm April 21, 2022

I'm new to the Product Owner scene and want to know the strategic & tactical steps for a Product Owner as recommended

1. Product Vision (Undisputed)
  2. Product Goal OR Product Strategy OR Product Roadmap
  3. Then whats next step from the steps above

So is it ?

1. Product Vision
  2. Product Goal
  3. Product Strategy
  4. Product Roadmap
  5. Release Plan
  6. Product Backlog
  7. Sprint Backlog

What Order should the above be in ?

03:54 pm April 22, 2022

Talking about an order and steps seems to imply you're looking for a strict sequence. I don't think that exists. There will be feedback loops. It would probably be better to look at levels of abstraction, where creating, achieving (or failing to achieve), or modifying more detailed goals and plans informs the higher level goals and plans.

It's also not necessarily clear exactly how you define these different things. For example, I don't see much (if any) of a distinction between a product vision and a product goal. I also don't see a big difference between a product roadmap or a product backlog - the backlog is one way to present a roadmap for what will be worked on and delivered.

04:58 pm April 22, 2022

I am not sure where you got your two lists of items but this is from the 2020 Scrum Guide's section that describes the Product Owner role.

The Product Owner is accountable for maximizing the value of the product resulting from the work of the Scrum Team. How this is done may vary widely across organizations, Scrum Teams, and individuals.

The Product Owner is also accountable for effective Product Backlog management, which includes:

• Developing and explicitly communicating the Product Goal;

• Creating and clearly communicating Product Backlog items;

• Ordering Product Backlog items; and,