Skip to main content

Merging 3 Scrum Teams into 1?

Last post 09:50 am May 11, 2022 by Priy Tr
2 replies
02:51 pm May 3, 2022

Dear community,

I am a rookie scrum master (I just started in November 2021) from Germany and need some expertise from the community.

Currently I am facilitating a team of 5 devs and 4 business analysts. The PO role is still vacant and we are desperately looking for a candidate but couldn't find any match since I started there. And yes I know 4 BA is way too much, but that's a different topic.

There are two other teams in my cluster that are responsible for the software that our team is going to supersede. 

Due to the fact that the two teams are more or less running out of work (and only have a max. of 2 devs) and the scrum master already left we are now planning on merging the teams into one team. The two smaller teams will still have some tasks until 2025 to maintain the old systems until we are completely ready to overtake their functions. So plans are to already start the knowledge transfer and give them a perspective before they are running out of tasks.

Currently I am planning to do some workshops with some of the team members to arrange the consolidation.

And that's where I need your help (or at least feedback). Since its my first time dealing with such a challenge I have no idea what I'm doing and google wasn´t a very big help.

So my current plan is the following:

1. ) Do a short vision workshop to ensure everyones on the same page and know what the team is heading towards to (max. 30 Min since the objective is already more or less clear) and make plans for the main steps/goals and until when we want to merge the teams.

Then do two additional sessions focusing on our ideal, the challenges this ideal is facing and what we need to do to solve those challenges.

2.) Have a closer look at the organizational/ structural conditions: