Skip to main content

Multiple DoD's based on ticket type

Last post 07:35 pm May 20, 2022 by Daniel Wilhite
5 replies
03:19 pm May 17, 2022

I joined a Scrum Team as a Scrum Master and instead of a single Definition of Done, they have a list of several (nearly 10) DoD's which are linked to different types of issues (User Story, Task, System Test story, Bugfix, Hardware setup, etc).

I am not an expert in DoD's, but I feel like it should be one single list of items that need to be completed for an abstract piece of work to be considered done. I feel like having many lists makes us more confused about what it really means to have something Done, as often the tickets cross different areas. And also because the list is so big I feel like we give it less importance and we tend to never touch it.

What's your take on this matter? Have you ever worked with different DoD's that are related to different types of work?

And if it is indeed better to have a single list, how do you make it so that it is valid for all of them?

Thanks for your advice!

05:55 pm May 17, 2022

The Definition of Done is a commitment associated with the Increment. There must be a DoD which assures that each will be of usable quality. The Increment, after all, is the thing that's actually going to be put into use. There ought to be a clear Product, the value and quality of which can be assured.

That doesn't mean that a DoD has to be an atomic and monolithic construct which is evaluated at the end of an Increment's development. A DoD can be broken down to different levels, bearing in mind that the best way to inspect and adapt is as closely as possible to the time and place of work being carried out.