Skip to main content

How to get the team lead out of their heads

Last post 05:01 am June 2, 2022 by Waseem Chauhan
4 replies
09:15 am June 1, 2022

Hello,

I have some years of experience with Scrum myself, but for the first time I am accompanying a complete, long-established team in the transition to agile development methods. There have been 3 development teams before, all of which had a team lead. We deliberately left these teams unchanged in the transition to Scrum, since the team sizes fit and the developers worked well together. The only change we made was that we split the previous test team into the development teams.

In general, the transition is working very well: all employees are committed and two out of three teams are already working successfully in Scrum after just one sprint.

We have abolished the role of " team lead" - the previous holders of this role also agreed with this.

The problem is: In reality, they are still team leads. Everyone turns to these people first with questions, and it even happens to me that I quite naturally hand over the moderation of the dailies to the respective team lead. 

Therefore my question: Do you have experience with such constellations? What can I do to help the team - and myself - to forget the role of team lead? For central coordination meetings between the teams, we have already started to send a different team member every week. Do you have any other hands-on tips?

Thanks a lot!

02:40 pm June 1, 2022

I quite naturally hand over the moderation of the dailies

What "moderation of the dailies"? Why "naturally"?

If you're talking about the Developers' Daily Scrum it sounds like you need some kind of presence, at least for now, in order to coach that there should be no moderator at all. Perhaps that's the best place to start.

03:28 pm June 1, 2022