Skip to main content

New Product Owner in existing team

Last post 08:18 am June 7, 2022 by Michael Lloyd
6 replies
11:48 am June 2, 2022

Hi everyone, 

I'm just new to an existing scrum team that is in a scrum transition period as a product owner. And also I have PSMI certificate, according to my observations in the first weeks, there are some shortcomings in their scrum applying. But first of all, I want to make one-on-one meetings with the team. And I need your advice at this point, on how should my approach be. And which questions I should ask the team in these one-on-one meetings. 

PS: There are some developers who are shy and avoid talking. 

Your advice is very valuable to me.

Thank you

03:25 pm June 2, 2022

Have you mentioned these observations in a Sprint Retrospective?

One-on-ones are a poor substitute for action by a team with a consensus view of reality.

07:44 pm June 2, 2022

If you have your PSM I certification, why would you even consider having 1:1s with the team members as an attempt to improve?  And as a Product Owner, why do you feel it is your job?  

As @Ian points out, the entire team is responsible for the work and output that is achieved.  Since you are the one that thinks you see problems, you should feel comfortable bringing this up in a Retrospective for the team to discuss.  Remember that there is no single person that makes all of the decisions in Scrum.  Also remember that your opinion may not reflect those of the rest of the team. 

10:50 am June 3, 2022

Hi @lan and @Daniel, 

First of all, I appreciate your advice. But I guess I expressed myself wrong. The goal of these 1:1 meetings is to get to know them, not fix the shortcomings that I observed. Of course, I will discuss my observation in retrospective as you said.