Skip to main content

Hi there!

Last post 11:27 am August 20, 2014 by Charles Bradley
1 reply
05:31 am August 20, 2014

Hello fellow Scrum practitioners!

I've been searching for months for a scrum/agile related forum so im really glad to find a site like this.

Looking to pick the brains of other like minded individuals and get stuck into the discussion. I've recently discovered Agile scrum methodology so im fairly new to it but have learnt alot over the past 4 months or so and am now a true Scrum fanboy.

I wanted to start things off with a question about user stories. Getting them right seems to be a bit of an art form and while i understand all the key principles and have constructed a backlog from them there is one thing i am struggling with.

In our application we have some sizeable wizards that can take a single developer a long time to complete and at the moment there is a chance these get rolled over to the following sprint. Now while rolling over is fine im just wondering if there is a way of breaking down these user stories so that more than one developer can work on the same wizard while still keeping the sections they work on separate as outlined by the user story.

For example: "As a Care home manager I want to complete a pre-assessment for an enquiry so that I can see if they are eligble for my home"

This is a user story for the pre-assessment wizard, which obviously consists of multiple pages. If this cant be broken down any more then thats fine i understand, but i just want to know whether im doing it right or it could be improved upon.

11:27 am August 20, 2014

Ben,

Welcome to our forums. Based on your question, we need to start with some first principles: