Skip to main content

Work still not completed even after some sprints

Last post 04:54 am October 3, 2014 by Ian Mitchell
6 replies
12:34 am September 26, 2014

Hi Everyone,

Kindly guide me for the following situation,

My team has been realizing that they have not finished even a single story on last day since past few Sprints. They work on last day to finish few stories. What do you think could be wrong and how would you help as a Scrum Master?

06:07 pm September 26, 2014

I am a newbie myself.

1. did you do a sprint retrospective? what were the findings of the teams for the impediments faced?
2. did you try reducing the velocity of a sprint by choosing fewer estimation points for a sprint?

11:41 am September 29, 2014

Hi Daniel,
what do you mean with "on last day"? What does the team say, why they didn't finish them? Are there impediments? Are the stories too big and should be decomposed? Are they not able to fulfill the definition of done without external help? Is there even a definition of done? I think we need a bit more information to help you.

12:30 pm September 29, 2014

Hi Daniel,

This is indeed quite broad. Agree with Ludwig.

Some more answers that may help --

A) What is your role on the Scrum Team?
B) How long are the sprint cycles?
C) How many sprints have passed?
D) How large is the team?

05:35 am October 1, 2014

Are people over estimating what they believe they can achieve in a sprint? maybe they need to start breaking user stories down further. Also, are there external dependencies that are stopping the team complete their tasks - this has caught me out in the past!

06:24 pm October 1, 2014

I too worked on a team in the past and we did not complete all stories in the sprint.

Within the Scrum Framework it is safe to fail. As this highlights bottle necks with in the process.

I suggested we re visit our Definition of Ready and use the INVEST Model