Skip to main content

Using scrum in Personalized content project

Last post 12:48 pm October 16, 2014 by Ian Mitchell
3 replies
09:02 am October 8, 2014

Hi,

I am a scrum master who's used to working on website projects using scrum. I am now for the first time faced with a project where the goal is to personalize content - both the technical side (adapting the CMS to personalized content) and the content side (creating custom content for certain users/ customer journeys).

Whereas I am confident on the first part (adapting the CMS using scrum), I am not experienced on the first part (creating personalized content).

Who has any experience with creating content for a website using scrum? There must be soms do's and don'ts and I would love to learn from them.

Thank you in advance.
Debbie

07:57 am October 10, 2014

Presumably technical elements and content will both be needed in order to create a potentially releasable increment. Has the Product Owner therefore represented *both* as Product Backlog Items? Will they be planned into each Sprint to satisfy meaningful Sprint Goals?

03:40 am October 16, 2014

Thanks for the reply Ian.

Would you say that content needs to be a separate item on the backlog? I was thinking to just add content-tasks to the scrumboard, and include 'Every increment is equiped with working, tested content' to the definition of done. The user stories can stay the same, it is just the demands we have for accepting it that will change.

Do you think this might work?

Kind regards, Debbie

12:48 pm October 16, 2014

If you represent content as tasks then this implies that they will be planned into a Sprint Backlog by the Development Team. This begs the question of how the team will actually develop the content.