Skip to main content

Passed PSM 1 - My Advice

Last post 11:50 am October 30, 2014 by tim muttitt
1 reply
04:57 am October 16, 2014

Hi All,

Yesterday (Wednesday) I passed PSM 1 after doing the scrum.org PSM training on Monday & Tuesday. I feel obliged to post my thoughts here for your consideration. I’m a developer.

The revision
Most of this was done on Wednesday, i essentially studied:

• scrum guide - I went over this a few times, I like to take a marker/highlighter and identify key words and sentences concerning relationships betweens roles and events/artefacts. Paying careful attention to words like ‘must’ & ‘should’.

• Scrum open - This is fairly well covered by other on this forum, do it many times, and get 100%, also look at the incorrect answers and make sure you can identify why they are wrong

• Developer open - I didn’t notice many people mention this as being used to study for PSM - I think it’s worth it, a few of these showed up in the PSM 1 assessment (like sprint zero)

• This forum - A mixed bag, some people talk sense, but there is quite a bit of misinformation and when you are ‘cramming’ reading this can cause you to forget the correct answers

• Other websites - Didn’t really bother, seems a lot of incorrect, or adapted versions of scrum about, it’s essential to focus on the scrum.org understanding of scrum

• scrum.org PSM training - See below

The Assessment
Firstly the assessment software is a damn disgrace, and they should be ashamed of it. It threw me quite a lot when I realised that the software is totally different to the Open assessment software. The layout is terrible, the navigation is terrible, the post backs are terrible and time consuming, the countdown is obvious and distracting (the cynic in me wonders if this is on purpose)

• About 20% of the questions come from scrum and developer open