Skip to main content

Ordering Product Backlog to minimize Dev Team dependencies

Last post 08:15 am December 4, 2014 by Ian Mitchell
8 replies
11:20 am November 24, 2014

The Scrum at Scale sample test lists the following as a correct assertion:

"A well-ordered Product Backlog can minimize and often eliminate Development Team members working on multiple Scrum Teams during a Sprint"

While this is indeed true, the statement seems to imply that this decoupling of Development Teams ought to be a consideration when organizing Product Backlogs.

Is the way Development Teams self-organize (either individually or at scale) a reasonable thing for a Product Owner to take into account when ordering a Product Backlog?

01:41 pm November 26, 2014

Hello, I am just studying the Scrum Guide, so might be off a bit in my understanding.
I believe the answer to your question is "Yes". It seems to be in line with the PO responsibility: "Optimizing the value of the work the Development Team performs", "The Scrum Guide, page 15". The value of the work done in the Sprint might suffer if a developer needs to work on multiple scrum teams during same Sprint.

03:29 pm November 26, 2014

I think you make a good point. However a Development Team should take care to only action work that has been negotiated into their Sprint Backlog. They should not be performing work that remains on the Product Backlog and which they have not yet agreed to do. By that reasoning, a PO would not be in a position to optimize the value of work being done by changing Product Backlog order.

I think it's reasonable to assert that the way Development Teams self-organize to deliver increments of value is entirely up to them, and is not something for Product Owners to decide.