Skip to main content

Ways to improve velocity

Last post 03:13 pm March 27, 2020 by Dragos Triteanu
17 replies
09:29 am December 18, 2014

I am a software development manager. I have, and continue to, manage multiple scrum teams. We have been using scrum for about 8 years, so pretty mature compared to the majority of the organizations I talk to. I think we do close to all the right things - unit tests required for continuous feedback, UI automated test suite that runs nightly, good planning, team involvement, monitor sprint burndown, monitor product burndown, dedicated scrum master, retrospectives, etc. In general things to smoothly.

But, I've challenged my team this year to increase our velocity. On every team I've managed we tend to define a velocity based on past projects, use that the determine schedule and budget, then get into groove where we stick with that velocity for years. No matter what process or tool improvements we make our velocity remains roughly the same. Most times we complete all tasks, or very close. Sometimes we miss but that's primarily if we have a major unexpected interruption.

It feels like the Gas Law to me (or the garage law). You fill the space you have...and then stop. So, we use our existing velocity, plan to that...and the team works towards that goal, even though we may have made a major improvement where one would have expected us to be more efficient.

We are on a large, highly strategic project right now that has lots of eyes watching. The organization wants us to go faster. I've been successful at explaining that's not possible, but I do realize that going faster would be a major benefit to my company in terms of project ROI, competitiveness, etc.