Skip to main content

Agile Process Management

Last post 04:02 pm February 3, 2015 by Cherylanne (Cherie) Mercer
4 replies
11:06 am January 27, 2015

Hi Everyone,

Please could I have your thoughts / feedback on this?

I am currently in an exciting and challenging role as Process Manager within an organisation that follows the Agile development methodology (both scrum and kanban). My role is to define strategy and e2e process frameworks around the Product Delivery Life Cycle. This includes determining all inefficiencies & best practices around scrum, from requirements gathering ; defining development workflows to product release. My background is Developer(Master's in Computer Application), albeit, many moons ago, to Business Consultant and now to Process Manager. I have done my PSM1, currently working towards PSPO1.

My question is do you see a future in Agile Process Management being a recognised discipline? Do you think the industry needs an 'Agile Manager' , a person who operates in the gray area between PO(product owner); PM(project manager); SM(scrum master)? Am I better off moving into either a Scrum Master or a Product Owner role?

I would greatly appreciate all your thoughts and feedback on this? You can also contact me via LinkedIn.

Many thanks,

12:19 pm January 27, 2015

Cherie,
this sounds like a challenging job.
I am not an expert in APM, but you know that in Scrum there is no other role than PO, SM and Developer. Everyone else is a Stakeholder.
If you scale Scrum you might have a PMO (Scrum at Scale) or an area Product Owner (books by Larman & Vodde).
But I have made the experience that introducing more roles (without the need for scalability) generally creates more waste, because the clean and consistent process becomes ambiguous and decisions take longer. So when determining all inefficiencies I would start with unnecessary roles.