Skip to main content

Help with User story

Last post 03:28 pm September 26, 2022 by Daniel Wilhite
6 replies
12:17 am September 24, 2022

Hi, im new in the rol of PO of my organization and i would like some advise on a user story creation

So we want to implement a simple system that will generate a QR for our customers so they can use it to receive payments.

I have a user story of "User can Generate QR" which consist of a user filling in a form with about 10 fields, which will be validated and send to a service they have to create to generate the QR". After discussing it with the team, they say that probably due to the validations of the fieldd against some legacy systems it might take more than a sprint to complete the whole story as it is... 

I was thinking in splitting it maybe on "User can input required fields to generate QR" so they can do all the validation of the field and another of "User can generate the QR" for the service that will generate it  ... but its a part of the functionality and wont be even potentially releasable until its complete ... any ideas and suggestions on how to split it better?

01:49 am September 24, 2022

It's usually a good approach to split your stories (aka Product Backlog items) vertically (through the tech stack) so that the work is transparent by the end of the Sprint. The teams I work with would complete part of the form with the associated service work in one Sprint, then the final pieces of the form and service components in the next Sprint. Each Sprint produced a potentially releasable Increment (PBIs met the Definition of Done), but the Increment wasn't released in Production until the entire form and associated services were Done.

The downside of splitting work horizontally by doing the UI work in one Sprint and then the service work in another is that the Developers might find integration challenges too late in the following Sprint.

02:49 am September 24, 2022

Thank you Chris for your feedback.