Skip to main content

How do I begin?

Last post 10:09 am October 16, 2015 by AXEL AIKPA
9 replies
08:33 am September 1, 2015

Hi to all !
I read a lot on this forum and lot information are very helpful!

I have a question :

I was involved in project management in France but not as a project manager. I would like to upgrade and have a better position.

Now i live in Netherlands and I'm really interested in scrum mindset.

I already begin open assessments (scrum open + product owner open) and got 100% a couple of times

But i have doubts...I wonder if i have to begin with PSM or PSPO training. It looks like all is needed but all is not affordable for me.

I plan to attempt to a training course but is there an order in the learning steps (first PSM and PSPO in second) or it does no matter?

(I'm a beginner, never work with scrum or agile and I'm not english native).

Thanks for your advice
ax

02:06 pm September 1, 2015

Hi Axel,

you're really interested in Scrum mindset but, as you stated, you have no experience with Scrum.

I will suggest to start with PSM to be sure to have a good understanding of the Scrum framework and maybe looking for an opportunity to do some experience in a Scrum team.

I strongly believe that to be a good Product Owner, one needs really to understand deeply the Scrum framework.

05:43 pm September 1, 2015

thank you for your answer Amodiovalerio.

You confirm what I though : PSPO is above PSM.

But do you think that a scrum team, nor a PO would have faith in a SM beginner?
I understood that the PO can refer to the SM in case of help needed, but who help the SM?

Sorry I maybe ask stupid question but I need to do the right choice.

Thanks again

01:22 pm September 2, 2015

I will not consider PSPO 'above' PSM, they're just about two different roles.

In my opinion, while a PSM doesn't need to have the same knowledge about product and business as a PSPO, a PSPO need to have at least a good knowledge of the Scrum framework.