Skip to main content

PSM I - My preparation + tips

Last post 08:35 pm June 4, 2016 by Siddharth Nattanmai Balakumar
3 replies
03:27 pm January 21, 2016

Hi everyone,

Just passed the PSM I exam with a 97.5% result (78/80) and thought I'd provide some feedback like many of the very helpful people have done on this forum before me. FYI, your score is divided into 4 sections/subject matters when you get your result. I personally scored 95% in the "Scrum Framework" section and 100% in the other 3 sections.

Here's some context and info about the way I prepared, and this might surprise some people.

----- Background and preparation

I had some very basic knowledge of Agile and Scrum (Scrum Master, Product Owner, sprints, backlog and so on) before I started studying for the exam, but I've never have any experience working with either Agile or Scrum, or had any proper training over them (no virtual training and certainly no classrooms). I've been wanting to become certified in Scrum for a little while now and finally launched myself seriously 3-4 days ago.

I took a few Scrum Open assessments without studying anything just to assess my initial skills, and scored around 75% twice. I then read the Scrum Guide fully ONCE while taking notes as I went on. I started blasting the Open assessments - Scrum Open maybe 15 or 20 times, Product Owner Open nearly 10 times, until I could get 100% in just a few minutes everytime, knew all the answers to the questions before looking at the possible choices, and could tell why each answer was right and the others were wrong.