Skip to main content

Business Analyst and Functional Analyst in the Scrum Team

Last post 12:56 am May 26, 2023 by Pierre Pienaar
11 replies
03:22 pm January 3, 2023

Hi

as an Agile Coach, I have to train a Scrum Team where there are in addition to Developers, Business Analysts and Functional Analysts.

I am not sure how to handle this. Should the "Definition of Ready" already include the functional analysis? Or should I see the functional analysis as a task?

Thanks in advance

Daniele 

06:18 pm January 3, 2023

I have to train a Scrum Team where there are in addition to Developers, Business Analysts and Functional Analysts.

Are you satisfied that those analysts are not in fact Developers: i.e. that their industry is not needed to plan and build a Done increment each Sprint?

I am not sure how to handle this. Should the "Definition of Ready" already include the functional analysis? Or should I see the functional analysis as a task?

Perhaps both. Perhaps enough of each are needed to satisfactorily refine the work, and to ensure that it can be Done in a Sprint before actually doing it.

08:36 am January 4, 2023

Hello Ian,

personally, I did not like having analysts on the Scrum Team, but this was imposed by the company. 

At the moment, the Team has several status for the User Strories: New, Analysis in Progress, Analysis Done, Dev in Progress, .... up to 'DONE'.

What I wonder at this point is whether I should consider the Sprint Planning committment based only on the User Stories that are in the 'Analysis Done' status.

In this case, the Story Point estimation would be related only to the 'Development', decoupling both business and functional analysis from the estimation.

The downside would be that the user stories to be analysed would still have to be taken into account in Sprint Planning, as a matter of follow-up.

Do you think this is a correct approach?

Kr,

Daniele 

07:12 pm January 4, 2023