Skip to main content

Supermarket System

Last post 09:34 am April 6, 2016 by Timothy Baffa
9 replies
11:46 am April 3, 2016

Hello everyone, I'm new to scrum, and i'm taking a course in my university on Software Engineering, the instructor gave us an end of semester assignment which is to create the first release of a software product of our own choosing, he split the students into teams and my team chose to create a simple supermarket system.
we are also using targetprocess, and he told us to do our first sprint.

we are having trouble with our project mainly in the form of not enough user stories to group into features, up till now we have only found user stories for employee management, Inventory management, report management, and log management.

as for report and log management we weren't able to think of stories to put them in but we knew these are important.

and we only have Administrator , manager and cashier as users, and the heavy lifters can only move stuff around when ordered.

please help, we are very stuck.

thank you in advance.

12:37 pm April 4, 2016

Whole point of scrum is that you do not need to know all of the requirements and needs up front. As this is your first sprint the only thing you need to do is begin working on at least one peice of functionality which meets the definition of done i.e. it is potentially shippable to the customer.

At the sprint review you have the opportunity to get feedback as well as adding new PBIs anytime during the sprint.... By the sounds of it I reckon you have sufficient user stories to begin the sprint noting to "inspect" and "adapt" accordingly.... Hope that helps and good luck!

12:53 pm April 4, 2016

One thing that isn't clear Omar from your post is the intention of the class that you are taking. Is it a Scrum class, or a class on Software Engineering with no recommended methodology or framework?