Skip to main content

Pre-Sprint Item Analysis and Idling during the Sprint

Last post 09:59 pm February 3, 2023 by Ben Safratowich
5 replies
05:02 pm February 1, 2023

I am a project manager, coming from the traditional waterfall PM and transitioning to Scrum as Scrum Master/Product Owner, thus I have few questions, which would help me for smoother transition:

1. Although the task is to deliver the MVP during the sprint, there should be some analysis involved to provide a greater detail to the items of the backlog (especially when you are creating a product with clear, pre-defined processes). When is such analysis done and who is doing it? Product Owner alone pre-sprint or the business analysts during the sprint? Because during the sprint planning, the development team should already know most of the details of the item, in order to estimate it and add to the sprint backlog.

2. In Scrum the members of development team should be fully dedicated to the current sprint. What should the idle members do during the sprint? For instance, in order to have a cross-functional team, the testers should be in the team as well, they cannot perform their tasks till programmers will do their work. Should they be idling if they cannot contribute anyhow toward the sprint goal.

Thanks a lot :)

10:44 pm February 1, 2023

during the sprint planning, the development team should already know most of the details of the item, in order to estimate it and add to the sprint backlog.

Product Backlog refinement is the art and science of making work ready for Sprint Planning, meaning the Developers are confident it can be Done in a Sprint. By the time they enter Sprint Planning that work should therefore have already been estimated. Any analysis which might be necessary to provide them with this confidence should also have been performed.

What should the idle members do during the sprint?