Skip to main content

Finished all stories but have a lot of sprint days left

Last post 07:50 pm February 28, 2023 by Daniel Wilhite
4 replies
03:35 am February 28, 2023

Hi there. 

We've just adopted Scrum, we run 2-week sprints, and I work as a PO. 

We had a planning meeting and decided which user stories to work on. 

In the first week of the sprint, we almost finished all the user stories.

Of course, we still have some QA and editing to do, but I think it will be done soon.

So, I've suggested to the development team that we add a user story with a relatively small SP, but there's a lot of pushback. 

Here's what they're saying 

1. if you add a user story, we'll be able to finish it, but we won't have time to refactor it. Adding a user story like this will continue to prevent refactoring. 

2. isn't it against the rules to add unplanned user stories in the middle of a sprint?

Well, here's how I see it.

1. if we don't add a user story at this point, we'll be refactoring for 5 days... I don't know if that's right. I'm not saying that refactoring isn't important, but shouldn't we be able to add stories that are more valuable to the customer?

2. if I change all my plans in the middle of the sprint, or add work that we can't complete, that's a problem, but if it's a story that can be completed in the remaining days of the sprint, shouldn't I be able to add it?

I would be grateful if you could tell me who is right. 

07:00 am February 28, 2023

We had a planning meeting and decided which user stories to work on. 

The purpose of a Sprint is to meet a Sprint Goal. Did you remember to decide what that goal would be? Any items chosen from the Product Backlog are a forecast of the work needed to meet that commitment.

1. if you add a user story, we'll be able to finish it, but we won't have time to refactor it. Adding a user story like this will continue to prevent refactoring.