Skip to main content

Product Owner miscategorized items in SW backlog quadrants

Last post 09:20 pm March 29, 2023 by Nicholas Gabrichidze
3 replies
01:49 pm March 29, 2023

Hello :)

I'm working as a manager, and I've just came to know that the PO of one of my teams assigned some work to the wrong backlog quadrant.

This feedback came from one of the SW Architects who found odd that his work/input (technical debt) couldn't be planned by the team (since the quadrant was already full with higher priority items).

My question is: how to prevent this from happening?

As a manager, I don't think it's a good idea to go over the priorities, categories, planning, etc., with the PO. I believe that this would be micromanaging.

Any experience/ideas?

04:56 pm March 29, 2023

As a manager, I don't think it's a good idea to go over the priorities, categories, planning, etc., with the PO. I believe that this would be micromanaging.

I agree. But as a Scrum professional, it might be a good idea to explore why the Product Backlog includes quadrants. Rather than enhancing transparency, this strange construct appears to be reducing it.

08:05 pm March 29, 2023

What is a "backlog quadrant"?  Never heard that method of managing a backlog before.  However, it is the Product Owner's responsibility to manage the Product Backlog in any manner that they feel is most beneficial.  You mentioned a Product Owner, an Architect and a Manager (yourself).  But you never mentioned a Scrum Master.  As a Scrum professional, I would advise you to discuss this with the Product Owner and Scrum Master.  The Scrum Master helps the Product Owner with techniques to manage the Product Backlog but it is ultimately the Product Owner's decision on how to do so. In order for the Product Owner to successful and to enable the Scrum Team to be successful the organization should honor the Product Owner's decisions as being best for the Product.