Skip to main content

Scrum Teams

Last post 11:16 pm May 11, 2023 by Pierre Pienaar
5 replies
07:11 pm May 5, 2023

I have been working scrum for the past several months and I am having the most difficult time finding value in what we do as a team.  We were paired with developers that do work for an application, we on the other hand we work with 15 different applications. Our team is mainly break/fix and they are a team that can plan. My main concern and question is how we can work together. I am not getting value or able to value the work they do as our team doesn't know the work they do nor do they understand or have willingness to learn or do our work. We are a floundering Scrum Team. i have suggested that our team be split up so that we can work in a different way (Kanban). This has been rejected as viable option. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

08:27 pm May 5, 2023

This has been rejected as viable option

Rejected by whom? Who is making the decisions about how teams are organized?

07:21 pm May 10, 2023

This was decided by our Solution owner whom I've spoken to about this many times before.  I just sat through a one-hour long meeting (Backllog) with our team and spoke to one issue concerning a scrum rule we decided was no longer of value to anyone on the team.  We decided that each of us will value work assign points and the group within the team will discuss if something is under or overvalued during backlog. Team A values their work and Team B values their work, I don't pretend to understand their work and they will not pretend to understand or know anything about the work we do.  Just another rule out as a team have decided we will not follow. Team A and B are both on the same scrum team.  

09:15 pm May 10, 2023