Skip to main content

Agile Requirements

Last post 04:37 pm May 24, 2023 by Damien Stark
5 replies
09:21 pm May 18, 2023

Hi everybody! 

In my company, we have a concept of requirements. The requirement must go through the following chain: (QA approval > Management approval > Regulatory approval > Active)

While I would love to save the same kind of chain, which is important for the requirements, I'd like to improve that workflow to be more agile. That chain is crucial to follow, but too long and impacts the metrics of my team. Have you encountered this before and how did you solve it? Is there a possibility to make that chain more agile while also saving all these steps?

06:33 pm May 19, 2023

Why do you actually want to save these prescriptive steps, instead of running empirical experiments and learning to build the right thing at the right time?

03:32 am May 20, 2023

Hi Ian and thanks so much for getting back and noticing this! 

The problem is that I work in the industry which needs to be highly regulated, and we have some obligations we must respect. This one is tricky: I do want this review process to be faster (considering there are people globally involved), but at the same time having all the chain gone through. Any ideas are welcomed! 

06:12 am May 23, 2023

My advice is to think of it the other way round. If agile outcomes are expected, regulators may have obligations which they need to respect.

Are those authorities aware, for example, that right now they share in the accountability for ensuring work is Done? Perhaps transparency is needed over the commitments of Scrum Developers, who those Developers actually are, and the teamwork which they ought to demonstrate.

11:47 am May 23, 2023