Skip to main content

Problems with product development

Last post 04:50 pm June 1, 2023 by Sophie Schenk
4 replies
01:28 pm May 30, 2023

Hi guys, 

I'm just starting out in the software development world and I'm trying to learn as much as possible.

I am currently working on an assignment about a scenario where a company / dev team has problems with their product development - both in building new features, as well as in developing a completely new product. And I mean a situation where the developers are actually stuck and/or the manpower of the team isn't enough.

If any of you have ever experienced those issues, what have you done?

I'd be grateful to get some insights if you're able to share some. 

Thanks in advance!

Cheers!

Sophie

03:41 pm May 30, 2023

Do you have an understanding of how much time is spent fighting technical debt? How is it visualized, quantified and managed? That might be a good place to start.

05:23 am May 31, 2023

Not knowing the detail, some areas where things can go wrong.

Technical debt, over engineering, overly complex architecture are some reasons progress are slow. Also building all at once and not defining a minimal viable product with proper increment slices. 

On the process side, to many items in progress,  chop and change/switching between items or no priority (everything is important) or priorities change frequently. (The last is often a knee jerk reaction from management when things go slow. Instead of letting an item finish, keep jumping around work items) Having a top down decision making and low morale, infighting etc. Not embracing team empowerment where the team that knows best should be allowed to make decisions.

Then what is slow progress? Did the team agree to the timeline? Are the timelines and "deadlines" set to be unachievable? 

A final resort, one can increase the amount of developers or upskill developers, but this is a longer term approach. New developers take time to adjust in a new team.