Skip to main content

New Scrum Master trying to Implement Scrum

Last post 08:23 pm January 8, 2024 by Pooja Aggarwal
6 replies
08:46 am June 10, 2023

I have started my journey as a Scrum Master in a new company with the goal of ensuring that the development teams adhere to the Scrum framework. At the moment I am studying how to be a Scrum Master while also learning about the team's processes.

Currently, our team consists of 3 full-stack developers, 1 Android developer, 3 front-end developers, 1 DevOps developer, 1 business analyst, 1 system administrator, and the CTO, who also acts as the Product Owner.

Essentially, according to my study of the Scrum framework, the team's basic structure involves:

a) The Product Owner who is responsible for the project vision and determining what goes into each app release.

b) The Scrum Master is responsible for ensuring that the development team adheres to Scrum principles and for removing any impediments they face during their work.

c) The development team is responsible for creating the work that will be included in each release.

Let me provide some information about the current roles of the Product Owner and System Administrator to give you a clearer picture of how work is distributed within the team.

The System Administrator is responsible for handling issues in Unisys. They communicate with stakeholders and users, and document their issues as tickets. The System Administrator has two meetings per week with the Product Owner to discuss new issues. The issues are prioritized by the System Administrator, and the Product Owner evaluates and adjusts the priority accordingly.