Skip to main content

"Product Owner & Scrum Master" executing digital software development project.

Last post 02:26 pm July 30, 2023 by Nicholas Gabrichidze
6 replies
05:59 pm July 21, 2023

I am writing to all of the members of this Forum, so I may learn from you if you can provide me with your point of view/insight on this situation. 

# Brift detail about me:

I am an IT Professional, with 10+ years of experience in project management. I moved from Waterfall to Agile and after performing 8 years in Agile, I like it much more than Waterfall, in many aspects.

# Situation:

I finished a work contract two months ago and am actively searching for a Scrum Master job proposal to work remotely from Argentina to the USA market. I have received three job proposals where I must take the Scrum Master and Product Owner role in one.

That is:

• to write the epics and User Stories (all PBI).
  • Product Backlog accountable and responsible.
  • Manage the Development Team.
  • Strong and direct relationship with the Stakeholders, 
  • Develop the Product Roadmap,
  • Carry out the Scrum ceremonies with more than 3 development teams (implementing SAFe). 
  • Facilitate the cross-functional team works out of roadblocks. 
  • Certification of Product Owner and SAFe. 

In addition to my previous point, a comment made to me by an HHRR person from a US talent search company emailed me --> "It could be that in the current market, and applying Agile methodologies (Scrum), there is a slight trend in which Product Owners also not only carry out their activity of managing and creating products but also managing work teams. , also performing the role of Scrum Master."

# Questions I bring to this Forum (I would like your opinions/experiences): 

1) Is the international market, mainly the USA, changing the roles within Scrum?

A limited portion of companies seems to go against what the Scrum framework defines (conflict of interest).