Skip to main content

Advice on Sprint Planning

Last post 11:28 am December 29, 2016 by Markus Pfundstein
9 replies
06:55 pm December 8, 2016

Hey all,

I am a junior developer and relatively new to the practice of Scrum. I am studying for PSM I and I am curious how other Scrum Teams deal with Part 2 of Sprint Planning (How the work will be achieved).

The current development team I am on has a brief discussion about how each PBI will be worked on as we pull them in. This is just a few sentences about how many headaches we may come across, if there will be issues with testing, and so on; nothing terribly deep is discussed. I can understand the benefit of this, but I believe we might benefit from a more robust discussion. How do you all handle this stage of planning? This is something I would like to bring up in our next Sprint Retrospective.

Any advice on this subject would help me tremendously.

Regards,

MP

09:55 pm December 8, 2016

How are they currently formulating their Sprint Backlog, and tracking the work that remains in it?

03:22 pm December 9, 2016

In my experience with teams, there are several objectives with the Sprint Planning Part 2 meeting:

- Evaluate the "offer" of stories from the business, as it relates to the agreed-to Sprint Goal. Determine from a capacity standpoint, a measurement of past velocity, and an overall "comfort" level within the team, whether the proposed Sprint Backlog is achievable within the upcoming sprint. Consult the Product Owner if there are any questions or concerns around the proposed offer.