Skip to main content

Can a user story be written from a developer's perspective?

Last post 07:24 pm October 9, 2023 by Subhasish Gupta
6 replies
06:42 am September 18, 2023

Can a user story be written from a developer's perspective? For eg:

As a developer, I would like to enhance XYZ API to call ABC API?

My understanding was that user stories are created from the perspective of the user who is using the product. However, in one of the post it states that it is the stakeholder of the product  https://www.scrum.org/resources/blog/user-story-or-stakeholder-story and not the user of a product. Can developer be considered a product stakeholder? 

06:25 pm September 18, 2023

User stories are always written from the perspective of the system's user. If you're writing it from someone else's perspective, then it could still be a story, but not a user story.

I'd also point out that the "As a X, I want Y so that Z" is the Connextra format for user stories. Originally, user stories were not written in this format. Instead, they were a brief title and longer description on a card. A team at one company developed a consistent format for their title and it grew in popularity. It could be beneficial for other teams, but the format doesn't make something a user story or even a story.

If you are using stories as a Product Backlog Item, a good question would be if the description of the story adequately communicates the value of the Product Backlog Item to key stakeholders. Would stakeholders outside the development team understand why "enhancing XYZ API to call ABC API" would be more valuable than some other piece of work? If not, consider how you can better write this title to more readily communicate value to all stakeholders.

09:48 pm September 18, 2023

Can a user story be written from a developer's perspective?

It's conceivable, but should it?

Bear in mind that not every Product Backlog item needs to be captured as a user story. None might be.

For eg: