Skip to main content

Scrum for Prodution testing Tickets

Last post 09:25 pm October 2, 2023 by Daniel Wilhite
2 replies
12:47 pm October 2, 2023

Hello 

I now work as a scrum master for a team which is required to  do final production testing for developed tasks. This could include tickets from a project development or tickets due to  a new kind of product intergation with external intergators . 

This also almost involves implementing the tested solution for a live merchant. Due to numerous reasons like below we  end up  keeping tickets open for a very long time. This doesn’t result in good indicators for velocity of tasks or  burn down rates. I wanted to check on how are such issues handled  using Kanban in your orgs . What are the  best  metrices to show progress? Also invariably due to multiple blocekrs the team is always multi tasking which in general is not a good practice .

1. Terminals were not shipped to merchant on time.
  2. Customer has some major networking issues.
  3. The customer found issues which need code fixing from their other vendor company.

06:12 pm October 2, 2023

I now work as a scrum master for a team which is required to  do final production testing for developed tasks.

Is that requirement stipulated in the Definition of Done and met every Sprint? If you're using Kanban, that policy should be quite explicit. I'd suggest that the best metrics for showing progress will reflect the rate at which work is Done.

09:25 pm October 2, 2023

@Ian has a made a good point.  In Scrum. if you are not accounting for this in your Definition of Done you are inadvertently make this situation acceptable.  The Definition of Done is explained in the section of the Scrum Guide that describes the Increment. I'll use a couple of excerpts to support my point.

The Definition of Done is a formal description of the state of the Increment when it meets the quality measures required for the product.