Skip to main content

Pivoting into Scrum?

Last post 03:29 pm February 24, 2017 by Eric Tabone
2 replies
07:08 pm February 23, 2017

I have over 14 years experience as a project manager at various creative / marketing agencies. While I have a little direct experience with development, almost all of the projects I've worked on in my career have been creative development, production, digital strategy, social media, etc. – basically marketing and advertising. And in terms of methodology, I've used waterfall because that's what the industry dictates. My current role is actually overseeing a project management department (which I built), so I've got a kind of PMO role today, overseeing my teams executions, while interacting at a senior leadership level across the agency.

Lately, I've been really interested in moving over to software development and becoming a Scrum Master. Frankly, I'm bored and frustrated with the creative agency space, and have been for some time. I'm much more interested in being involved in building things, and in an industry that continues to grow exponentially (read: better career growth). I'm keenly interesting in making a career shift, and personally feel like this is a viable move, the more I read about Scrum.

I understand and agree that a traditional PM does not equate to an SM, but I feel I have a lot of transferrable qualities to a potential SM role: removing barriers for the team, working with stakeholders / PO-like people, coaching & support, facilitation, balancing & educating on process, prioritization, leadership, etc. My friends are devs and they're supportive of the idea, in that they agree I could be successful in the role. While I lack the depth of technical knowledge today, I do have a passion for tech and am generally tech-minded. Also if it matters, I'm in the Boston area, and not looking to move.