Skip to main content

Find Facilitating Awkward and Difficult

Last post 03:58 pm November 15, 2023 by Chris Belknap
4 replies
11:13 am November 15, 2023

I'm not a new Scrum Master, I have a few years of experience across a few differnet companies of varying sizes, so have a seen a few things.

It's difficult to explain the feeling I get when facilitating Scrum sessions. By facilitating, I mean, me doing the talking, sharing my screen and going throughthe board or retro etc. I feel my stomach fill with butterflies, nerves set in and I worry about how effective I am in the role. I often have thoughts such as "was that good enough?", "do they think im useless and that was a bad meeting?".

I think it comes down to a confidence thing, but can sometimes get so bad, I will miss work, or come up with excuses not to attend the session in fear of judgement. I suffer with imposter syndrome, quite strongly and have done most of my career. I have been a software engineer for 15 years before this too but felt that wasn't my calling, but I also have never felt that effective in this role either.

Really gettign to me and starting to wonder about just resigning. Someone in the current team recently decided to have a go at me and question my value and worth which really hurt and I reflect on this a lot. My manager and PO have zero concerns about my performance and are pleased to have me onboard. I called out this other guy, who was a dev in the team and said his passive aggressive messages dont help and wont be accepted, anyway, that's maybe a separate thing but lmight be relevant.

I just really want to enjoy this role, but find it also might not be my thing. I have delegated to the SM role in 2 of the 3 teams I look after, so sometimes feel I drift around the edges as a coach, not relaly feeling like my value is enough.

12:21 pm November 15, 2023

Two things stand out to me.