Skip to main content

Question about UAT

Last post 11:45 pm December 13, 2023 by Thomas Owens
5 replies
10:16 am December 13, 2023

Hey everyone.

I have about 8-9 years experience with SCRUM and as many others my experience varies from
10% implemented to 90% implemented, but never 100%.
It kind off makes sense to me because I have almost never met a client willing to play the "oblivious to everything else" religion
that SCRUM requires.

A thing I always encounter is the fact UAT is performed by business/client and never inside the development team, which means 
after a 14 days sprint we deliver a release to review. SCRUM dictates that this is a product and ready for release, however in reality the clients might not agree.

After review this release is placed on a stage environment where the client spends days testing it meanwhile we start a new Sprint.

As a result it looks a bit like this:

SCRUM

I'm wondering a few things

1. How do you guys compensate the SCRUM Process if you cannot force the UAT testing into the actual sprint
2. How to you facilitate that bugs from the previous sprint will come from UAT testing and will always be important
(I have tried all 3 methods below 
         A: making room for bugs which is a bit problematic because you dont know if you leave the right amount and it makes a fake filled sprint
         B: Not count bugs, which just ends up causing us to not hit sprint goal
         C: Adding tasks that are swapped for bugs,  which of course is also a bit of a mess because then the sprint goal changes

I'd like to hear how people handle this in the real world :)

07:31 pm December 13, 2023

Scrum is not implemented for its own sake, but to establish empiricism under complex conditions of high uncertainty. That's what the framework is for