Skip to main content

Introducing Agile to a team with no prior experience of it

Last post 12:13 pm January 4, 2024 by Oliver Flaggl
3 replies
12:01 pm December 17, 2023

Hi everyone,

I am a computer science graduate student at the University of Oxford, currently researching Agile methodologies. I'm also a staffer at the UN Dept. of Economics working in a scrum team. 

In my research, I’m exploring the best approach to introduce teams to Agile when they have no previous exposure to it. I would appreciate your insights on two specific strategies:

Option 1: Introduce Agile theory comprehensively from the outset, ensuring a solid foundation in Agile principles and practices.

Option 2: Introduce Agile theory gradually, aligning with the immediate needs and tasks of the team.

Which approach do you find more effective in your experience? Your advice will be invaluable for my research, and I'm interested in hearing about your experiences and rationale for choosing one approach over the other. 

10:07 pm December 18, 2023

I would appreciate your insights on two specific strategies

That could be a false choice. Agility is evidence-based and makes good use of validated learning. A better strategy would allow empiricism to be established and maintained as rapidly as possible.

06:46 am December 19, 2023

Option 1: Introduce Agile theory comprehensively from the outset
- This approach provides a solid foundation in Agile principles and practices, ensuring that team members have a shared understanding of Agile concepts.
- It can be beneficial when team members have no previous exposure to Agile methodologies, as it establishes a common language and mindset for collaboration.
- Comprehensive training can help team members grasp the underlying values and principles of Agile, which can foster a more holistic adoption of Agile practices.

12:13 pm January 4, 2024