Skip to main content

Here's my story: COVID-19 gave me Scrum…and it changed my life for the better!

Last post 10:11 am January 24, 2024 by Loris Barbisan
No replies yet
10:11 am January 24, 2024

As a sound engineer I started working in recording studios in the 90s, back when recordings were done on VHS looking digital tapes, but soon enough computers and home studios took over and the business shrunk. I ended up spending many years working on live events, first music festivals and eventually conferences and corporate events. 

As I entered my thirties, I started working as a project manager, and I continued working in corporate events in many different environments. As it happens to many, after years dealing with same clients, circumstances, places and people, I became very comfortable, perhaps too comfortable, and what used to be exciting and unique, became business as usual. 

In many ways, being that comfortable, and being the work so predictable to me, made me better at it…terrified clients would approach exhibitions and conferences with the strong feeling that their careers were on the line, and I gained a solid reputation for being the calming and reassuring presence they relied on, confident that their events were in good hands.

When in March 2020 the UK entered its first lockdown because of COVID-19, the event industry came to a halt. I had to personally call all my freelancers and contractors, and cancel hundreds of thousands of pounds worth of work without knowing when and how events would start again. At the time I was working with The Royal College Of Physicians of London, hosting events for pharmaceutical corporations, all the major healthcare trusts in the UK, and of course our own series of conferences, seminars, and classes.