Skip to main content

Do tickets need an implementation plan to be considered ready for development

Last post 10:30 pm February 22, 2024 by Daniel Wilhite
3 replies
12:24 am February 22, 2024

Hello! I'm a developer in a scrum team and I'm uncertain about the level of detail required for a ticket before it's considered ready for development. Many discussions suggest that a ticket is ready if it's small enough to be completed within a sprint and the team has sufficient information to begin work.

However, I'm wondering if a detailed implementation plan needs to be agreed upon by the team during the refinement phase before starting development. Also, how should disagreements between team members on implementation approaches for a Product Backlog Item (PBI) be handled? Is it necessary to resolve these differences and include the agreed solution in the ticket before development starts?

07:37 pm February 22, 2024

The relevant quote from the Scrum Guide is:

Product Backlog items that can be Done by the Scrum Team within one Sprint are deemed ready for selection in a Sprint Planning event. They usually acquire this degree of transparency after refining activities. Product Backlog refinement is the act of breaking down and further defining Product Backlog items into smaller more precise items. This is an ongoing activity to add details, such as a description, order, and size. Attributes often vary with the domain of work.