Skip to main content

I have been told Scrum does not deal with technical issues

Last post 09:04 am April 10, 2017 by Nikolaos Friligkos
2 replies
10:14 pm April 8, 2017

Help.. I am new to SCRUM.

We have been doing scrum for a short amount of time. We have been struggling as the due to changing needs/issues in our corporate environment our stake holder were complaining that we always said we would deal with it in 4 to 9 weeks.   Also we had issues where we waited for another team before we could complete an item.

We were kinda stuck until our scrum master left.  A former team lead suggested we (our team and Product owner) think about asking the other team if it was okay to tackle the task we were dependent on to minimize dependencies. He also suggested given the reaction of stakeholders when we say wait 4 to 6 weeks before we can tackle your issue,that we consider shortening the sprint durations to 2 weeks to allow more contact with stake holders.

When I asked questions online.  I got from other Scrum Masters that Scrum does not deal with technical issues.  It is up to the team.  That we need a Scrum of Scrum or SAFE to solve our issues.

Been really fustrated.  Scrum Master keeps saying SCRUM is agile.  But I feel that Scrum is a process (tool) to allow us to develop software in a more adaptable manner. But starting to feel like all it is a set of rituals that people who have letters after there name use to say we are Agile..  Help!!!

08:05 am April 10, 2017

Hello Yoshiichi,