Skip to main content

Some questions about Product Ownership

Last post 06:56 pm June 23, 2017 by Boris Kamenetckii
6 replies
07:49 pm June 22, 2017

Hello.

I want to pass PSPO I certification rather soon.

I have read some books and materials, but I still have some questions.

Please, help me with them. I really need your advice.

1) Can the Product Backlog contain testing items, e.g., such User Story:

"As a Developer, I need to conduct New Kind of Testing in order to provide

integration of our product with Some Other Product" or it should be the task

inside some functional User Story? In general, this question concerns technical PBIs.

In the Scrum Guide I have read that the Product Backlog could contain enhancements

and fixes, but what about testing?

Should such technical PBIs always be included in functional PBIs

(in accordance with the definition of "Done") or they can be represented separately?

2) Should all PBIs, selected for the Sprint, be decomposed during the Sprint Planning Meeting

(so, the Develoment Team members can clearly understand, what they have to do)? 

Or only some particular PBIs are decomposed to fill first days of the Sprint with tasks?

I think, that only some PBIs should be decomposed. Am I right?

3) Could new tasks be added to the Sprint Backlog during the Daily Scrum

(or the Dev. Team members should only answer 3 questions and monitor progress and that's all)?

15 minutes are not enough to dicuss some new tasks, immediately added to the Sprint Backlog.

Can anyone commit to such new tasks "for today" without discussion?

When does this discussion occur - after the Daily Scrum?

What if other members of the Team think this particular task is of low importance?

4) What if the Product Backlog (top PBIs) is not refined and estimated appropriately until the Sprint Planning Meeting?

E.g., during the Sprint Review the stakeholders proposed to add some "very hot" PBI of very high importance to the PB