Professional Scrum Certified Count

Over 170,000 Professional Scrum Certified

Note data was last updated March 31, 2018

At, we help ensure that individuals understand how to deliver high value software with higher levels of agility using Scrum.  To help meet that goal, provides assessments that can be used as tools to examine, enhance, and certify knowledge of Scrum. Below, you can see the total number of Professional Scrum certifications held per assessment. You can also search for an individual certification holder here

Open Assessments

Many certification test takers and others who are looking to assess their knowledge without certification take the Open Assessments.  These tests are a great way to gauge your knowledge and find areas where improvement is required.  

More than 2,100,000 Open Assessments have been taken.  This shows a willingness for our community to learn, grow and practice.

Professional Scrum Master

To be effective, Scrum Masters need to have a rock-solid understanding of the practices and values of Scrum. The Professional Scrum Master™ (PSM) assessments allow people to validate and certify their understanding of those practices and values, and how they would respond to situations that challenge them.


     138,104       1473            525

Professional Scrum Product Owner

The Professional Scrum Product Owner™ (PSPO) assessments allow people to validate and certify their understanding of the role of the Product Owner and how they would respond to real situations that would challenge them.


     26,327           153

Professional Scrum Developer

The Professional Scrum Developer™ (PSD) assessment is available to anyone who wishes to validate their knowledge of how to build complex software products using Scrum. Those that pass the assessment will receive the industry recognized PSD Certification to demonstrate their mastery of the content.



Scaled Professional Scrum

An intermediate-level assessment, Scaled Professional Scrum™ (SPS) is available to anyone who wishes to validate his or her depth of knowledge of the scaling Scrum and the Nexus™ Framework.  Those that pass this assessment will receive the industry recognized SPS certification that demonstrates their mastery of the content. 



Additional Notes

Please be aware that while the PSM I has been available since 2009, the PSPO I was only open to the public in February 2014.  Following Scrum, we took time by having a smaller group attempt the PSPO I assessment first, learned, adapted and improved before opening it up to the public.

Please also note that what is now known as the PSM II only became available to the public in July 2016 and what was PSM II became PSM III. More information about this change can be found in this blog post