Skip to main content

Concept Clarification Questions (PO role related)

Last post 08:21 pm August 15, 2017 by Blake McMillan
1 reply
12:24 am August 11, 2017

Hi all,

I am quite new to Scrum. I have followed through this Forum, but have some concept clarification questions in mind (Product Owner role related). Would appreciate some advices from the experts & practitioners in this group.

1. When the velocity is behind expectation (e.g. due to external impediments):

a) if a stakeholder/ manager comes, should SM tell him that the velocity is for the sprint work forecast (rather than productivity prediction) & ask him to refer to PO for progress of development?

b) if PO comes, should SM tell him that the forecast scope can't be promised given its emerging nature?

With reference to Scrum Guide statements as below, my view tends to be "Yes" for both a) and b). Am I correct?

- "The Product Owner is the sole person responsible for managing the Product Backlog".

- "...enough work is planned during Sprint Planning for the Development Team to forecast what it believes it can do in the upcoming Sprint"

- "In complex environments, what will happen is unknown. Only what has happened may be used for forward-looking decision-making"

Besides, any suggested good articles for the handling & adaptation in such common scenario (with lagging or over-"commitment")?

2. When stakeholders expect to have more feedbacks after current release, should PO opts for (#a) reducing sprint length, or (#b) stop sprinting so as work on new upcoming requests?

With reference to the following thread, my view is to opt for (#a) to enable faster feedbacks with smaller batch sizes while (#b) might be needed only when the upcoming requests eventually impact the sprint goal. Does this make sense?

https://www.scrum.org/forum/scrum-forum/5817/sprint-length-and-consistency-same-product-backlock

3. For PBL refinements, should PO work with DT inside or outside the sprint?