Skip to main content

PSM for Business Systems Analyst?

Last post 09:16 pm November 27, 2017 by Luiz Fabiano
3 replies
12:35 am November 15, 2017

Last year I graduated from university as BSA and so far I have been having trouble finding proper employment in my field. During my research I found several repeating job requirements such as ITIL framework or Agile methodology knowledge. After many unsuccessful job applications I studied and passed the ITIL foundations exam in order to enrich my resume. However, I am still struggling to find employment and currently considering obtaining a valid certification in Agile methodology. Therefore, I have several questions that I hope someone could clarify for me:

1. During my research I found that in general Scrum Master and Business Systems Analyst are disparate roles. My concern is that this certification might not complement my primary profession, or cause confusion when my resume is reviewed. In general, would Scrum be the way to go for me? Is there another Agile methodology that would be more useful?

2. And resume aside, how useful is Scrum for a Business Systems Analyst?

3. Would this certification conflict with the ITIL foundations certification that I have?

I would much appreciate any help or advice you could give me.

04:31 pm November 15, 2017

I’ve certainly known business analysts who have made good Scrum Masters. However, a Scrum Master is a vocation in itself, and not an enhancement for another role.

Generally speaking, most employers are likely to see business analysis skills as enhancing a product ownership role...although being a professional Product Owner is arguably also a vocation.

05:00 pm November 15, 2017

Hi Ian, thank you so much for your input. So, if I understand you right, in my case it is better to look towards the PSPO certification instead of the PSM.